Confession of a fiction writer who always has things to say about fiction writing, but rarely publishes these days.

Erin Fitzgerald
3 min readAug 31, 2021

I favorited this tweet so hard I almost put a hole through my screen:

Several years ago, I (mostly) stopped sending my stories out.

I had a few reasons. One of the reasons, the totally movie-ready one that’s now basically over and done, you’ll be able to read about in an upcoming anthology! But another big reason was about not enjoying the actual work anymore, and that scared the hell out of me.

The repair was to turn from flash fiction to longer fiction. No big deal, I thought. I’ve gone back and forth between forms for as long as I can remember.

So! I wrote a novel about friendship among elves. But I could never get the middle section, the quest part, to work. Now, I know why it didn’t work. But I didn’t know for a long time. Anyway, I trunked it. Maybe I’ll get hit by lightning and suddenly know how to fix it, maybe not. Whatever.

--

--